The Final Countdown……..

So, one week until the Brighton Half Marathon- my first ever proper race. A few months ago running 60 seconds was a challenge so part of me can’t quite believe this is actually happening 🙂 It’s been a mixture of emotions this week – doing fewer and fewer miles in the week before a race is actually really difficult.  You can’t help but worry that all the fitness you’ve spent months cultivating will wilt away during a week of sloth. I’m nervous, but really exited and really pleased that some of my favourite ever people are coming along to share the day.

I was very sad to wake up to the news that Whitney Houston has died. I’ve spent many happy an hour dancing along to Whitney in ironic 80s bars. I’ve added One Moment In Time to my playlist for next week in her honour. I’m hoping that will spur me along in addition to the good wishes and donations so many people have sent. I’ve been genuinely stunned by how generous people have been – ‘anonymous’ – you know who you are – I don’t, but thank you – that was amazingly generous and also people who I’ve never met – e.g. Stephen Griffiths – thanks for the dollar! The Just Giving page is still open so feel free to take a look by clicking here and chucking me a few quid if you feel able / inclined

I’ll let you know how I get on – Wish me luck!
Peace Out
Xoxo

Tagged

6 thoughts on “The Final Countdown……..

  1. hongkonguk says:

    Good luck! I’m currently on the search for an event to enter. Was gonna try a 10k first. Will be very interested to hear how you get on. 🙂

  2. Daniel says:

    Stephen is spelt with a V!

  3. Stride & Joy says:

    Best of luck!! I am full of admiration that you’ve readied yourself for a half in such a short time!! Have lots of fun. 🙂

  4. Best of luck! Just relax and have fun! Most of all, be very proud of yourself (and it’s ok to cry when you finish!)!!!

  5. Daniel says:

    I hope you have finished it by now…it’s Monday evening!

Leave a Reply

