Ok, So This Is Actually Happening

I had a minor freak-out just over a week ago. This arrived

I remember clearly sitting down and entering the Brighton Half Marathon one gloomy, rainy night in September. At the time, I thought it was 50/50 whether it would actually happen and I didn’t tell a soul about what I’d done for a month. Now with  three weeks to go, I’ve realised this really is actually happening, and I’m kinda excited –  very, very excited! Following on from my last post, things have been better. I ran 10 miles last Saturday which went well and breaking into double figures was a real psychological boost.

Yesterday, my new thing for the day was to take part in my first ever organised race – a free Park Run. I was really nervous beforehand, having visions of the park full of Keenos running the 5km in 6.87 minutes with me shuffling behind half an hour later.  Although I didn’t exactly win, and initially had flashbacks of horrendous school cross country, it was actually really lovely and people were super friendly. Before we started, Park Run Virgins (there were about a dozen of us) were asked to identify ourselves and we got a big clap and cheer from the rest of the 280 strong group which genuinely put a smile on my face. I ended up running 5K faster than I ever had before, didn’t come last and even passed a few people. It also helps when you’re running round places like this.

Don’t get me wrong, although the people there were mostly Normals, there were a few Keenos as well. I overheard things like ‘well, so, maybe Tim could run that 5k faster, but I totally feel like I could run that all again at the same pace – maybe even quicker. Bet Tim couldn’t do that’ That statement would be annoying even coming from a 13 year old, but this guy was at least 30. Seriously dude, get a (non-competitive) hobby. So, a lovely first race followed by a further 5mile jog back home. Will definitely be doing it again.

(WARNING, SOME SMUGNESS COMING) Without getting too dramatic, pressing ‘send’ on that half marathon application turned out to be one of the best, and most important decisions I’ve ever made in my life. I feel a million times better than I did last year and genuinely feel like a whole new world has opened up over the past few months. If you’re teetering about entering into your first race, in the words of Nike, Just Do It. I’m so glad I did.

Enough with the pep talk, until next time

Peace Out

xoxo

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Ok, So This Is Actually Happening

  1. Ten miles!!! Great job–I’m super impressed and hope one day I can run half that far! I ran in my second 5K yesterday and knocked three minutes off my time for the first one. Having started running at the tender age of 53, I know what you mean about feeling great about the decision to start. Keep up the great work!

  2. Hey Michael – congrats! Keep up the great work!

  3. Stride & Joy says:

    Well done on the 5K! Funny how so many of us are traumatized by school cross-countries. Good luck with the half! I have much admiration. 🙂

  4. hongkonguk says:

    Thanks for posting this! I never knew of the free park run thingies! Will be checking those out!

  5. Claudia says:

    Come on! Well done you, you’re really getting into this running marlarkey now.

    I don’t think you are running for charity on this occasion as it is for the sense of personal achievement which I can tell you will really get after all your hard work. However, I would love to make a donation to a charity of your choice to congratulate you. Let me know! Claudx

Leave a Reply

