A Slight Snag

Well dear readers, since my last ramblings, I’ve achieved a first and I’m not sure whether to be proud, or to cry. I’ve picked up my first ever sports injury! My hip has been playing up for a few weeks now making it really stiff after a run. I went to see my friendly Welsh-ex-rugby-built-like-a-tank-physio this week who told me I have a Syndrome beginning with B in my hip making it knotted and inflamed. On another point, I used to have a Syndrome in my jaw beginning with J that made it click all the time. Anyway, I digress ….

The cause of this problem is literally a pain in the butt. Apparently my bum muscles aren’t just weak, they’re completely non functional! Lots of exercises and putting ice on my hip every hour (although surely life’s too short to put ice on your hip every hour) but most importantly, and sadly, no running until it calms down. Never thought I’d actually be sad not to run, and just as I was starting to enjoy running up hills….

This is particularly annoying as T-day is supposed to start next Sunday. T-day is the start of my formal 12 week training plan which will get me ready for the Half Marathon in February. In the mean time I’ll have to substitute running for swimming and doing stretchy things. Which leads me onto my another thing I’ve been thinking about this week…..

Do you ever find yourself doing or saying something which stops you in your tracks – doing or saying something which is so out of your normal character you wonder at what point you started becoming one of ‘those people’. Imagine then my shock when I found myself on the train home from work with a yoga mat under my arm and wondered wtf was going on! I took a serious reality check. When did I become one of ‘those’ people who owns a yoga mat???  I’d started doing something that vaguely resembled yoga a when I embarked upon this challenge and my torturer physio has told me to take up Pilates to try and strengthen up. Still I sometimes look at it bundled up in the corner of my room and laugh a little to myself. What’s next – mung bean salads??

So once again Sportsfans, Over and Out – hopefully next time I’ll be up and running (literally) again.

Tagged , , ,

11 thoughts on “A Slight Snag

  1. Claudia says:

    Oh no! What a pain (pun intended) in the bum! I hope you can do lots of stretchy things to feel better soon. Think – what would Kelly do? When she hurt herself again before the 2004 Olympics she took up running her distance but in a swimming pool – maybe you could try that!

  2. Haha – I think that’s gonna be my mantra ‘What Would Kelly Do?’ Hopefully it’ll get better soon!

  3. Aly says:

    This post made me laugh out loud in places! We have similar trains of thought.. The good old yoga mat!!

    • Indeed Aly – we definitely think along the same lines – you laugh at yoga mats, I laugh at yoga mats; You like interpretive dance, I like interpretive dance – Good to have someone on my wavelength!

  4. Wishing you a speedy recovery 🙂

  5. Sorry to read about your hip. Hope you recover quickly so you can stay on track with your T-day half-marathon preparations. And I know just what you mean about becoming one of those people! I was at a conference last week and got up at 5 a.m. to run two out of three mornings!

  6. Haha – I know exactly what you mean! Keep it up!
    xoxo

  7. Sarah says:

    poor thing! You’ll be back in no time. Tom and I swear by yoga – fingers crossed haven’t had any running injuries since doing it. and its fun too! Omg we really are those middle aged people who do yoga….

  8. Lisa says:

    Hang in there. I went through a lot of hip flexor issues and IT band (on the hip area) issues. Stay faithful to your ice and stretching! As I lose weight and get stronger things are “shaping up”!! May you have a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

