Coming Clean

I was on the phone to my best friend a few weeks ago – she had been going through old photos and came across this. She sent it to me and it has made me chuckle, I kid you not dear readers, for about three days solid.  I have not a clue what I’m doing, when this was taken or why I needed a deer hunter and swimming goggles to express whatever it was I was trying to express – I don’t even think I’d been drinking! It made me think about being able to have a good old laugh with fantastic friends and reminded me what amazing people I have in my life.

I’ve been a bit sheepish about telling people about my plan to run the Brighton Half Marathon. If I’m truly honest, I thought the reaction would be hysterical laughter. Without exception, the response has been one of overwhelming support and a pledge to come cheer me along on the big day. My best friend even decided to run it with me to keep me company. Not one person has expressed a hint of doubt in my ability to complete it or laughed in my face. I’m sorry dear friends and family for doubting you – I love you dearly – you rock!

I ran a nice, chilled out 5k this morning in the beautiful (but pretty hilly) park near my house. I take a while, but always get there eventually. Need to start practicing those hill runs 🙂 Until then, I need to think more of my friends, stop being paranoid and come clean about my plans for the next few months. Until next time SportsFans – over and out.

Tagged

14 thoughts on “Coming Clean

  1. StrideAndJoy says:

    Hills! Those are my nemesis too. Good luck with the training!

  2. Aly says:

    Woohoo! Excited to see you blogging too…Photo is priceless. Good luck with the training xxx

  3. Ah wow, i can’t believe i have missed you other blogs. Well done you, i look forward to seeing you soon and chatting about training as i am doing a triathlon in June and the running is the bit i am dreading the most….. tips please. See you soon hunny, one last thing to say YOU GO GIRL 🙂 xxxx

  4. Aww thanks Honey Bun. Triathlon – wow! When & where is it – I’ll come and cheer you along! Will see you very soon and we can discuss strategy

  5. Great work! You can do it!! One foot in front of the other and enjoying every moment when you get to the finish line!! Thanks you for your words for me as well. My goal is a 25K in May.

  6. Ahh, very nice – good luck and thanks for the encouragement

  7. iseulte says:

    Hills are your friends! Seriously, I trained for my last half on the flat coast, and beat my PR this time by 26 minutes on a not-so-flat course just because my new home is in a hilly area. You are totally going to rock that race when you run it.

  8. Jenny says:

    It’s impossible to do those runs without friends or family! Good luck on the half. I hate hills as well, but unfortunately they are great training.

  9. That’s so great that your friend is going to run it with you. That’ll make the miles fly by

Leave a Reply

