And So It Begins……



Basically, I’ve decided to do something which is borderline a challenging goal to aim towards, borderline overambition. Let’s be honest, people run half marathons all the time – just this morning I watched a legend of a man who is 100 years old finish the Great Birmingham Run. Really, it’s not that a big a deal. But if I could give you a bit of context dear readers…..

I don’t do sports, no seriously, I don’t do sports. When I was at school, I couldn’t finish the 800 metres without stopping a few times for a rest. My evenings are spent at the pub, not playing squash or hockey. Up until a few months ago,  in my twenty eight years on this planet, I had never even owned a trainer sock. To add insult to injury, on the weight spectrum, it’s fair to say I’m on the ‘heavier’ end of the scale. I actually eat really well and am not totally bone idle – I probably walk a good 5 miles a day with work and stuff. However, have a wicked sweet tooth which has been my downfall. So given this promising resume, how on earth have I ended up volunteering to run the Brighton Half Marathon???

Are you all sitting comfortably? Good. A few months ago I stumbled upon a wonderous thing.  Couch to 5K from NHS Choices. A non patronising, amazing free podcast of which our National Health Service should be proud (and probably publicise more).  If I’m honest, I didn’t think I’d get past the first week and laughed at the thought of running 5 kilometres. ‘Laura’ our ever encouraging podcast host eases you in gently – just running intervals of 60 seconds then each week Laura became ever so slightly more demanding. Within a fortnight I couldn’t believe how much I was enjoying myself. I was feeling amazing, really proud of myself and astonishingly was counting down the hours until the next morning I could go for a run before work. Within a month I ran five kilometres, then wondered if I could do six. I could. Then seven, and so on.

And then the great English winter arrived.

While the summer sun was still with us, 6am starts and a run along the river was a charming way to start the day. Quickly it became dark when I woke up and dark when I went home. When the alarm clock went at the break of dawn, an extra hours sleep was a little too tempting. And so, I fell back into bad habits. Let’s face it, English winters are miserable. I wonder how we all survive the vitamin D deprivation. English winters also make me a little miserable. One evening when I was feeling a bit glum, I decided I needed a good old kick up the arse. I needed a challenge. I needed something which was hard enough so I would actually get out there and train over the coming months, but not so hard there was absolutely no way I’d achieve it. With becoming a squash champion and completing an Ultra ruled out, I stumbled upon the Brighton Half in February. Before I could talk myself out of it, I booked it and told people. While I’m not an elite athlete, I am however, stubborn and I have to do it now, just to save face.

So I’m still not as fit as I should be, and am still overweight and I can’t begin to describe what an un ‘me’ like thing this is to do, but I’m quite excited about the journey. Hope you enjoy it with me

5 thoughts on “And So It Begins……

  1. Jenny says:

    Running is my therapy! I can always link the most unhappiest times of my life to where I stopped running regularly. It’s so exciting that you are training for a half marathon, and kudos for doing it in the winter (in the past I’ve slacked with running in the winter because I hate winter…and we’re talking about wimpy Texas winters here).

  2. Thanks Jenny. English winters are truly depressing – here’s hoping this will make it more bearable! Good luck with the rest of your training
    xoxo

  3. This is so exciting. I love it!!! You go girl! I cant wait to follow your journey.

  4. Daniel says:

    I am so tempted to have a go at running now….hope it works out for you.

  5. […] by sport as a kid – what a waste. This all came about by accident when I stumbled across a Couch to 5K podcast and got hooked. I’ve written before how this has really made me realise how many […]

Leave a Reply

